London: Hampton Court Palace

dsc08740Even though Hampton Court Palace has been languishing in my sadly neglected Favourite Places page for years, and I wrote about my visit to some of its outbuildings during Open London weekend a couple years ago, I’ve never actually done a whole post about it.  Until now, of course.  Since I was doing all things touristy when my ‘rents were here, I thought I might as well take them to Hampton Court, it being one of my “favourite places” and all.

dsc08502_stitch   dsc08501

As always when visiting Hampton Court, I took advantage of the National Rail 2 for 1 offer (vouchers available at all London train stations), which is easier to do at there than at some other London attractions, because the easiest way to get there is genuinely the train that runs twice hourly from Waterloo to Hampton Court (conveniently for me, via Wimbledon).  I recommend you do the same, if at all possible, because £21 is a lot of money.  I mean, you could buy like 5 ice creams for that, even at London prices.  But you do get a fair amount for your money, because Hampton Court is big, to the extent that you’ll get sick of walking around before you run out of things to see.  This is why, even though I’ve been there at least 5 times, I discover something new every time I go.

dsc08498   dsc08499_stitch

Though in some instances, this is because they actually change the exhibits.  Case in point: Mantegna’s Triumphs of Caesar, which was definitely not there the last time I visited.  These 15th century paintings were acquired by Charles I in 1629, so I’m not quite sure why they only seem to have gone on display in the last few years, but I’m not the greatest fan of Italian Renaissance art, so I can’t honestly say I was missing out on anything on previous visits by not seeing them.

dsc08510   dsc08514

So despite our odd detour into Mantegna land, I suppose the logical place to start is with “Young Henry VIII’s Story,” which has been a fixture here for at least as long as I’ve been visiting Hampton Court.  It gives people who haven’t watched Wolf Hall (but seriously, Damian Lewis in a codpiece!  How could you not?  Even though the codpieces were too disappointingly small to be historically accurate…) or read as many Alison Weir books as I did as a teenager (I was a weird kid) a good grounding in what Henry VIII was like before he became an obese tyrant. Hampton Court was built by Cardinal Wolsey, but it was pretty promptly stolen by Henry when he saw how much ass it kicked compared to his own palaces (ok, technically it was “gifted” to Henry by Wolsey when he realised he was falling from favour, but I suspect that was in response to Henry dropping very pointed hints about what a great palace it was, and how fantastic it would look with a big ol’ throne in it).

dsc08690_stitch   dsc08705

Then of course, there are Henry VIII’s actual apartments, which I’ll talk about now, even though we didn’t actually see them next because Hampton Court is like a big maze (it has a hedge maze, but the palace itself is basically a maze too).  Only about half the original palace exists, because William III and Mary II hired Christopher Wren to do some major construction work in the late 17th century, but the Great Hall and a few other cool rooms remain, including a gallery, appropriately called the “Haunted Gallery,” which is meant to be haunted by the ghost of Catherine Howard.  Though I’ve personally never sensed any supernatural presences there.

dsc08506   dsc08728

Other Tudor attractions here include Henry VIII’s kitchens and wine cellar (always a big hit with children, which is why I don’t have any pictures of the kitchens: there were about three large school groups passing through whilst we were there, so I pretty much ran through them to avoid all the commotion) and the Royal Tennis Court, which is now a members’ club where people can still play real tennis (different from lawn tennis…it’s like a combo of tennis and squash I think.  Not sure how much it costs to become a member, but I bet it’s a lot, judging by how much it costs to just enter the palace once and not play tennis).  The Tennis Court has been completely redone since the last time I was there, and now contains museum-style displays about monarchs and their tennis skills, which I enjoyed.

dsc08579_stitch   dsc08723

I should also mention Henry VIII’s superb astronomical clock, and the wine fountain in the courtyard (it can be seen in the second picture in this post), which is a re-creation of one used at the Field of the Cloth of Gold, the famous meeting in 1520 between Henry and Francis I of France.  They actually fill the fountain with wine on special occasions, none of which I’ve managed to attend (not that I like wine anyway, but I would drink it from a fountain!).  Also, there is the fine topiary version of Henry, pictured above.

dsc08519_stitch   dsc08544

But enough about the Tudors; even though Henry was the most famous monarch to inhabit Hampton Court, he certainly wasn’t the only one.  There were also William III and Mary II, who, as I mentioned earlier, did a fair bit of remodeling. William and Mary each have their own set of apartments here, but Mary never lived in hers as she died of smallpox before they were completed.  And they appear to be undergoing restoration work, because they’re not currently open to the public (they were even wiped from the map, but I definitely remember visiting them on previous occasions, and the internet confirms that I’m not just imagining them).  But William’s are open, even though they’re rather dull because not much information is provided inside them (there is a free audio guide, but I have never ever used it, so I can’t tell you what it’s like).

dsc08566   dsc08573_stitch

I do have to quickly show you his loo though (on the left, the other room is just some sort of study, not a weird communal pooping room), because who doesn’t want to poo whilst sitting on a comfy velvet-lined seat (oh, just me then?)?!

dsc08588_stitch   dsc08591

Another section of the palace I had absolutely no past recollection of was the Cumberland Art Gallery.  (No photos were allowed in the gallery, so these are from the hall outside.)  Unfortunately, most of the art seemed to be Italian Renaissance stuff, so I quickly lost interest and wandered outside to the row of Lely paintings (many of which were of Charles II’s various mistresses) leading the way to the Cartoon Gallery (another disappointment, as it wasn’t the Hogarthian type of cartoons I was hoping for, but rather some paintings Raphael did.  Snoozefest).

dsc08605  dsc08609

Although Mary II’s younger sister Anne (pictured above), who was also queen, lived here too, Hampton Court nowadays skips right from William III to the Georgians (and I guess as well they might, if it leads to napkins that fabulous, but Anne’s personal life is fairly interesting in its own right).  The Georgian rooms also seemed to have been changed since my last visit, and redone more in the style of the Georgian stuff at Kensington Palace, which I guess makes sense since they’re all part of Historic Royal Palaces (but still, for that kind of money, I expect more individuality!).

dsc08619_stitch   dsc08629

Georges I and II seem to have been a thoroughly unpleasant pair, always fighting with each other, and George II carried on the feud with his own child, Frederick (who died before becoming king, thus the crown passed to his son, who became George III).  Still, bickering makes for entertaining reading, and I was especially interested to learn about Caroline of Ansbach’s (George II’s wife) hernia, from which her bowels apparently eventually protruded (I assume through a layer of skin, not that her bowels were literally hanging out of her body, because I’m pretty sure that would kill you), making her extra cranky (understandably enough, though she never seemed particularly pleasant).

dsc08640   dsc08651_stitch

And so let’s move on this fairly brief tour of the palace itself to the gardens, which are numerous and enormous.  In fact, you can buy admission to just the gardens (which I’ve never really seen the point of, but whatever); they include the privy garden, kitchen garden, orangery garden, and Tudor garden, amongst others.

dsc08673_stitch   dsc08680

The gardens also include the Great Vine.  It is certified as the largest vine in the world by the Guinness Book of World Records, and I can confirm that it is indeed a really big vine, though not quite the tourist attraction it apparently was in the 19th century, when Victoria first opened the palace to visitors, and people queued for hours just to see the vine (which I find kind of charming, in a way.  They lived in an age that saw the creation of railroads, telephones, photography, electric lights, etc. and yet people would still patiently wait half a day to look at a damn vine).  We were the only people looking at it when I was there, but it is fairly tucked away, which is probably why this was my first time seeing it.

dsc08670   dsc08733

Despite not really being a garden person, I have to concede that the ones here are pretty cool (not least because of that drawing of Henry VIII, which, no joke, is probably my favourite thing in the palace, tied only with the Henry topiary (I have a reprint of an old Hampton Court tram poster in my living room with a very similar looking Henry on it, only without him being angered by a fish).

dsc08741   dsc08746

But of course the best part of the gardens is the hedge maze.  I won’t go for the obvious pun and call it a-maze-ing, because frankly, I’ve been to better (the one at Leeds Castle, which has a grotto at the centre, springs to mind), but it’s still pretty fun, especially relative to the other attractions available at the palace (don’t get me wrong, I enjoy looking at old palace rooms, but I wouldn’t exactly describe it as a barrel of laughs most of the time).  There is also a “magic garden,” but that appears to be some sort of playground for small children, so I didn’t investigate further.

dsc08748_stitch   dsc08739

So concludes what is by necessity (so I don’t bore you all to pieces) an abbreviated tour of this very large palace.  It is expensive, yes, but you can easily spend half a day or more here and still not see everything, and I still think it is the best (by far) of all the Historic Royal Palaces (these include Banqueting House, Kensington Palace, the Tower of London, et al), so I firmly believe that if you’re doing the whole tourist thing in London, it is well worth a visit.  Even for Londoners, it’s worth coming here every few years or so, because exhibits do change, and you’ll probably discover something new.  Also, the palace just looks really cool, and I think we’re all a little fascinated by Henry VIII, even though he was one of the biggest jerks ever.  4/5.

dsc08755

 

12 comments

  1. I’ve never actually visited Hampton Court despite living quite close to London. My mum’s obsessed with history so maybe I should drag her there one day.

    1. Definitely! Just try to do the 2-for-1, because no way is it worth 21 quid! Sometimes when I’m not travelling by train I still buy the cheapest single I can to a station near the attraction I’m visiting, because wasting money on a ticket I’m not going to use is still cheaper than paying for two full price admissions at expensive attractions like Hampton Court.

  2. Eek, £21! I haven’t visited Hampton Court since 1977 so I think I’m overdue a return. Thee must be new exhibits: I don’t remember protruding bowels 😉 Poor woman!

    1. That is a long time ago! If things have changed quite a bit in the eight years or so I’ve been visiting, I can only imagine what must have changed since the ’70s. Including the price, of course. As for Caroline, she did have ten pregnancies (including a couple miscarriages) which caused the hernia in the first place, though it was the bowel bursting that eventually killed her. I symphathise with the woman, but she still seems kind of awful for referring to her grandchild as a “poor ugly little she-mouse.”

  3. Places like this that are so big can be so daunting. I never know what to look at or how to spend my time there, like at the Prado or the Newport Mansions. At the mansions, though, I’ve had a similar experience of going frequently enough and always noticing something new when I bring friends to visit. As far as the vine goes, it is endearing to imagine people waiting to see a vine, and it’s almost sad that now nobody wants to see it.

    1. Huge places do make for a tiring day! I don’t mind if it’s somewhere like the British Museum or the V&A or something, where at least it’s free so I don’t feel bad if I don’t see all of it. But if I’m paying, I have this compulsion to see every last thing to get my money’s worth, no matter how exhausted I am at the end of it!

  4. Ha! Until I read about the tennis courts being open for members, I thought they’d hired someone to do a historically-inaccurate performance of tennis in the time of Henry VIII.
    Good grief, those are napkins? Man, I took a class in origami as a kid and I still can’t do anything better than a triangle with mine – and not a very neat one at that.
    This might be too much information, but I initially missed this post because my mother’s been in hospital with exactly the type of hernia suffered by Caroline of Ansbach – so I feel mighty sorry for her (and my Mom), because it’s not a pleasant thing even in our modern age. And yeah, makes one mighty cranky.
    That is a wonderful drawing of Henry – I like it almost as much as the vaguely silly topiary. And that’s a great photo of you in the maze-frame!

    1. I can make a pretty good origami bat, but only out of paper, certainly not a napkin. That is all. Oh, and those cootie catcher things that you write fortunes on the inside of! But that’s absolutely it.
      Sorry to hear about your mom, hope she’s feeling better! It sounds like an absolutely horrible thing to have, and I think earns one the right to be cranky.
      And thanks, I think I’m making rather a stupid face, but that was kind of the point, since the maze wasn’t all that challenging.

  5. I’ve always wanted to go here, largely to see the gardens, but glad to hear the whole place is pretty interesting since eventually I’ll get here. Hopefully though the exhibits will change by then because, like you, I can do without Italian Renaissance paintings.

    1. Definitely visit in early summer then, so you can see the rose garden in bloom! Apparently they have “17th century exotics” that are in bloom then too. Even if they do still have all the boring Italian art, there’s still plenty of other stuff to see without it, so don’t let that stop you!

Leave a Reply

